Manga Round-up

Since the earthquake I’ve had a lot of time on my hands. Especially when we had no power for a week. So with nothing to do I read a hell of a lot. I thought it would be good to do a round-up of some of the manga I’ve read over the past weeks.

A Drifting Life

It was actually the second time I’ve read this. It’s easily one of my favourite comics of all time. It’s an autobiographical story about a young manga artist the 1960’s at the beginning of the manga revolution in Japan. It’s very interesting historical account of post-war Japan. Which leads me to my next one…

Black Blizzard

Done by the same artist as “A Drifting Life” back in the 1960’s. This was a seminal work in the Gekiga style that helped change manga into a more modern form. This basically invented the cinematic pacing that is popular today.

Buddha

A very interesting manga about Buddha by the god of manga, Osamu Tezuka (he did Astro Boy among many other things).  It tells the complete story of Buddha’s life, form birth until death. I highly recommend check this out if you have a chance.

Ayako

Also by Tezuka. This story features a tumultuous family story set in post-war Japan. This has tons of intrigue and drama. Also highly recommended.

Dragon Quest: The Adventures of Dai

I finally finished reading this series. I had to read it since it’s Dragon Quest. It was quite enjoyable. My only complaint was that the ending was a bit unsatisfying. I wanted a bit more information about what happened to the characters instead of just a montage of a few pictures of them going on their separate ways. Still quite good though.

Shingeki no Kyojin

This is a newer series. So far I’ve only read the first two books, and I have to say it’s pretty fantastic. The story is interesting. Man-eating giants taking over the world, humans having to live in walled cities desperately trying to survive. The twists in the story are amazing. I can’t wait to read more.

Jojo’s Bizzare Adventure

I’ve been reading two different Jojo series at the same time. The first being part six, Stone Ocean.

The second is part seven, Steel Ball Run.

Jojo is by far my favourite series of all time. It has great intelligent battles, tons of weirdness, and the strangest characters and fashion ever. By the way next year is the 25th anniversary of the Jojo series. That’s a really long time for a series to run. It’s still going too. Part eight will be starting soon.

Well that’s all for today. I’ve actually read a lot more, but I’ll save that for a possible future post.

6 Comments

Filed under Japan, Manga

6 responses to “Manga Round-up

  1. Ku Ri Su

    LOL, that is a lot of manga. I am surprized that I don’t see One Piece up there. Erika and I just plowed through all 486 tv episodes. That was a lot of Luffy. Now I am going through some withdrawal.

    Do you need me to send you some books? Lord of the Rings, War and Peace? Would you even get them if I did?

    • Yeah, I’m not such a big fan of One Piece. For some reason I can’t seem to get into it. I’m OK on books. Since I got my Kindle a while ago, I can easily get books off the internet. It’s much easier.

  2. tsukareru

    I love Yoshihiro Tatsumi!
    Not many westerners know about him, so I feel happy that we’re in the same private Tatsumi-reading club. Have you read “The Push Man and other stories “? If not, you need to!
    BTW: I’m moving to Japan in August. I got into a program that rhymes with “Bet”.

    • I have read Push Man and all of the other works published in English. He is a fantastic writer. Nice to hear someone else enjoys his books.

      Congrats on getting into the rhymes with “Bet” program. Hopefully you won’t get stationed up here in Tohoku. Although this area is desperate for teachers since tons of foreigners fled out of the country after the earthquake. Be prepared for some really hot weather in August. It’s crazy humid!!!

  3. Ku Ri Su

    Hey Eric:
    Any updates? Are the trains finally running? Life getting back to normal?

    We manage to catch some Japanese shows about the rebuild in Sendai and that “1000 island” place we visited. They said about 40% of the stores have re-opened. They showed the elevated train track that was devastated. They are having to cut apart the train cars as they can’t get a crane in to lift it.

    Hope you guys are doing well. Let me know if you need us to send you batteries or other stuff.

    Chris

    • We’re doing alright. Things are steadily improving. A good amount of stores are open again. Some are still closed, I don’t know what’s taking them so long. Y\The trains are running, but on an altered schedule. We don’t need batteries any more, so don’t worry.🙂

Leave a Reply

