Starry Starry Night

Right after the earthquake we had no power for quite a few days. It was really boring at night. We had nothing to do but listen to the radio, which was super boring. I decided to take advantage of the darkness available due to not a single light working in town, and try taking some photos of the stars. The picture below was the most striking one that I took. It’s a bit blurry, but I still like it.

It’s simple incredible how many stars you can see when there’s no lights to block them out. Pretty amazing!

14 Comments

Filed under Japan, Photography

14 responses to “Starry Starry Night

  1. Sukanya Ramanujan

    Love the picture! We used to have powercuts regularly back home and the photograph reminded me of how the sky used to look. I hope that your friends and family are safe.

  2. Wow! It’s hard to believe it was taken in Japan.

  3. Nice photo! I don’t I’ve ever seen that many stars in the sky in my life.

  4. EMom

    Glad to hear that you are clean! How is the gasoline and train situation coming along? Will you be going to work next week?

  5. I was thinking the same thing when the lights were out. I meant to get out with my camera, but never did. It’s a shame.

  6. cuteandcurls

    Absolutely breath taking. It just sort of makes me imagine what its like in those old days of no electricity how the stars just lits up the sky with the moon glowing in her glory. Your photo reminds me of the time I was staying at this massive national park with my husband in Sulawesi, absolutely breath taking i think we sat outside for almost 3 hours just watching the sky, the stars

Leave a Reply

