This Book is Broken

this book is broken

Today Fed EX delivered my copy of “This Book is Broken”, a beautiful book about the history of one of the best bands in the world “Broken Social Scene”. It’s a very interesting story of members of various Canadian rock bands (including Stars, Feist, The Dears, Metric, and many more) coming together in one amazing band. The number of members varying from 5 to 26 depending on the live show. I can’t recommend them highly enough. Check out this video taken by a fan at their now legendary free concert in Toronto on July 11th this year.

And this awesome music video.

Yes, it is true that Canadians are in fact the coolest people on earth.

9 Comments

Filed under Books, Canada, Music

9 responses to “This Book is Broken

  1. keith

    sweet, I was going to buy that when I am back in Ottawa. I’ve been waiting since May to read this. They are also one of my favorite bands and i’ve seen them over a dozen times, including three times in Europe!! The best time that I saw them though was at the 2005 Bluesfest, Feist, the members of Metric, Stars, Apostle of Hustle and BSS played the same bill and when BSS played, everyone was on the stage, so there was like 17 of them, it was crazy awesome!!

  2. Sorry, I don’t like that music at all.

    The best Canadian bands are Helix and the KiLLeR DWaRfS.
    (BTW, before he was famous, the Canadian actor Michael J. Fox auditioned to join the KiLLeR DWaRfS.)

    Helix:

    KiLLeR DWaRfS:

    • I think most Canadians would argue that Helix and the Killer Dwarfs are nowhere near the best bands from Canada. In fact I think most Canadians have probably forgotten them completely.

      • Nickleback is good. Bryan Adams is alright. Celine Dion isn’t my style.
        Who else is there?

        • Only Americans like Nickleback, Bryan Adams first album was OK, but the rest are garbage. There’s a reason why Celine Dion lives in the US, we can’t stand her in Canada. We hate even being assoicaited with her.

          Some good older Canadian artist that might be more to your taste are Neil Young, The Band, The Guess Who, Rush, and Steppenwolf. A newer band you might like is Sloan.

          • I’ve only recently heard Nickleback. They sound good to me.
            Bryan Adams has some good songs.
            I don’t listen to Celine Dion-type music.

            I don’t like Neil Young, The Band, or The Guess Who either.
            Rush has a couple OK songs.
            Steppenwolf are good.

            I never heard of Sloan.

            Besides Helix and the Killer Dwarfs, Voivod is good too.

            But I’ve never heard of a legendary band from Canada before. Like KISS, Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, AC/DC, or Metallica!

Leave a Reply

