New PC

This week I got a new netbook. An Asus Eee PC 1000. It’s great because it’s very light (just 1 kilo), and easy to bring along. I chose this one because of the great reviews that it got.

eeepc1

The screen is 10 inches, it has 1 gig of memory, a 160 gig hard drive, 802.11n Wifi, and a 1.66ghz processor. Good for what I use PCs for (internet, media, etc.).

eeepc2

Plus the really great part is the battery last for around 7 hours. It’s the first time I’ve used a laptop that didn’t have to be plugged in after an hour. It had Windows XP in only Japanese on it, but some hackery on my part fixed that up and now it’s completely in English. The best part is, it only cost me 30,000yen ($300)! How can you beat that.

10 Comments

Filed under Japan, Tech

10 responses to “New PC

  1. I didn’t know you could change the language in the Windows XP OS.

  2. Yes, you can’t beat $300 for sure! I have been reading about the rising popularity of Netbook, as sales of traditional PCs and laptops have declined during this recession, Netbook sales have been rising.

    • I can see why. Most people just use laptops for word processing and internet, so why get a big heavy laptop with a short battery life. Plus the price difference.

  3. I think using Japanese language Windows is better than English.

    With Japanese Windows, you can read and type in both Japanese and English.

  4. Ku Ri Su

    Wow, maybe I should pick one up for Erika. Would I be able to hook that up to the TV?

Leave a Reply

