Vindaloo

Today I went to Yamaya in Minami Sendai and found the holy grail of Indian curries in Japan. Packages of spice paste to make Vindaloo! It’s the first time I’ve seen it at a store since I came to Japan.

vindaloo

I think the reason it’s hard to find is Japanese people usually can’t handle spicy food. What they say is really spicy over here is actually not that spicy at all. Vindaloo being very spicy would generally make it very unpopular dish for delicate Japanese tongues. Somebody was adventurous at Yamaya though, throwing caution at the wind when ordering it. Well, I say thank you to that man. Don’t worry, I will buy all of your stock!

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Japan, Miyagi, Sendai

6 responses to “Vindaloo

  1. I’ve never heard of that curry.
    But I’m not sure if “Japanese people usually can’t handle spicy food”.

    It’s easy to find some Thai curries that just about rip my head off they’re so hot!

    But, Japanese food itself is generally not spicy. (Unless maybe you’d consider wasabi spicy).

  2. All of the Thai food I’ve had in Japan has not even come close to the level of spiciness I’m used to having in Canada. I’ve found that all of the spicy food, like Korean, Thai, Indian, etc. are in general a lot less spicy in Japan.

  3. Yeah, foods are generally adapted to fit the “host” culture.

    What kind of curry is it like?

  4. Ku Ri Su

    “I think the reason it’s hard to find is Japanese people usually can’t handle spicy food. What they say is really spicy over here is actually not that spicy at all”

    Yeah, Erika never lets me buy the spicy Japanese curry. She says its too spicy when I don’t think it is spicy at all. I am training her slowly.

    Chris

Leave a Reply

