3D Picross

One one my latest gaming obsessions beside Resident Evil 5 is “Rittai Picross”

rittaipicross1

Picross is a logic game in which you make little pictures using the numbers on the side of the grid to tell you which blocks you should fill in, like in the picture below.

picross

Rittai Picross is like normal picross, but in 3D, which makes it even more fun. It’s a completely different way of thinking than normal Picross. I recommend it to anyone who likes puzzles. So far only the Japanese version is out, but it’s so easy to use that the language barrier is nonexistent. You can see the commercial that Nintendo has been running non-stop on TV below.

8 Comments

Filed under Fun, Games, Japan

8 responses to “3D Picross

  1. Ku Ri Su

    Pretty cool game. I have done the first few tutorials and stuff. Waiting to hit some of the more challenging levels.

    I had to get Erika to explain a few things.

    FYI – almost finished FFIV for the DS. That is a pretty cool game.

  2. Ku Ri Su

    DQ just doesn’t quite do it for me. I tried to play DQ8 for the PS2 and couldn’t get into it. I played for a while but once I realized that the game will be more of the same I lost interest. I am kinda there now with FFIV but since I made it to the final cave I am going to finish it.

    Which of the DQ series is when you follow him from a little kid to an adult?

    • DQ V is the one where you follow the main character’s life. It’s probably the best story in the DQ line. It’s right up there with FF6 for SNES. DQ8 feels really slow in comparison to DQ V.

  3. Ku Ri Su

    Up to 300 finished. The times are getting crazy now. It’ll take 2 or 3 tries to finish in the proper time.

    • 300!? I’m right behind you at 289. I need to catch up a little. I agree the time limit is getting crazy. I actually find the first puzzle of each level the most demanding. The time limits are super short, like 5 mins.

  4. Ku Ri Su

    yeah, they can be a little tight. Level 4 seems to be much more challenging. To bad I had to go through 250 levels to get something a little tough. So far all of the levels you just need to follow the rules. I am waiting for a puzzle that needs you to deduce which block you can break from multiple lines instead of just one. That would be interesting.

Leave a Reply

