Hanko

hanko1

This is a hanko. It’s basically an ink stamp with your name carved into it. Each one is personalized. Mine has my name written out in Japanese.

hanko31

It’s kind of cool, and not expensive at all. The case has a small little red ink pad. Red is the color always used.

hanko2

The hanko is basically the same as your signature. In Japan they don’t use signatures, just these little red stamps. I won’t post a picture of the actual stamp, since that would be like putting my signature up on the internet.

6 Comments

Filed under Japan, Tradition, Useful

6 responses to “Hanko

  1. Ku Ri Su

    Very Cool.

    I wanted to get my Honko but never got around to it. What name did you use? as I though it was hard to get one if you don’t have a Japanese name.

  2. >I though it was hard to get one if you don’t have a Japanese name.

    You can get whatever name you want. In kanji, kana, or roma-ji.

    >I won’t post a picture of the actual stamp, since that would be like putting my signature up on the internet.

    But you have a photo up showing the face of the inkan…I can see your name there.

  3. Chris, you can get it in katakana as well. I just used my own name.
    Tokyo 5, I am showing the actual stamp, but I tried to make it hard to copy by making it angled and slightly unclear in the photo. Also I had photoshopped some details out already, but I changed it even more now.

  4. Jeff

    Too late, I already used the face of your inkan to create my own “Eric inkan”. Now I’m going to stores all over town and buying stuff under your name. Ohhh no sucka! I eat trees!

  5. Damn you Jeoffery! Too bad for you it’s not registered for anything. You might have well used a “Hello Kitty” stamp or a “Smiley Face”. Besides You never had the full stamp. I is smart. I also eat trees, sucka!

Leave a Reply

