Kinnikuman

I got these little figures out of a Gacha Gacha machine. They’re Kinnikuman figures. Some people my age might remember them as being called M.U.S.C.L.E. figures in North America. I had a bunch of them when I was a kid. Anyways I got “Ramenman”.

ramen-man1

The artist of the manga used to have an interesting way of coming up with new wrestlers. They would often have design contests where kids would send in drawings of their creations. This led to some really starnge and cool stuff. I also got a “Brocken” figure.

brocken

They released this figures to celebrate the 29th anniversary of Kinnikuman first being published. I wonder why they didn’t wait until the 30th. Here’s a cover of the old manga. You might recognize the main character, if you’re a boy and grew up in the 1980’s.

kinnikuman_cover_2

Leave a comment

Filed under Japan, Retro, Toys

Leave a Reply

